Full list of Celtics retired jersey numbers: Kevin Garnett joins legendary club

On Sunday, March 13, Hall of Famer Kevin Garnett will be immortalized in Boston Celtics tradition when his jersey is hoisted to the rafters at TD Garden.

For a Celtics franchise that has won a record 17 NBA titles, the story runs deep. Garnett joins 23 other Celtics legends whose number — or name — hangs from the franchise’s NBA championship banners.

Brief as it may seem, Garnett made his mark in Boston. In six seasons as Celtic, KG averaged 15.7 points and 8.3 rebounds, earned five All-Star selections, four All-Defensive Team selections and one All-NBA selection.

In 2008, Garnett became the first player in Celtics history to win Defensive Player of the Year and was instrumental in the team’s run to win the 2008 NBA title.

CONTINUED: Watch NBA games live with Sling TV (3-day free trial; US only)

What number did Kevin Garnett wear with the Celtics?

When Garnett joined the Celtics before the 2007-08 season, he went from No. 21 to No. 5. Although the Hall of Famer wore No. 21 in his first 12 seasons with the Minnesota Timberwolves, this number was already retired in Boston. for Bill Sharman.

Garnett wore number 5 for six seasons with the Celtics before moving to number 2 after his trade to the Brooklyn Nets in 2013.

How many championship rings does Kevin Garnett have?

Garnett won the 2008 NBA Championship with the Celtics. During Boston’s title run, Garnett averaged 20.4 points and 10.5 rebounds per game in 26 games throughout the 2008 playoffs.

It was Garnett’s only championship. He led the Celtics to the 2010 NBA Finals where they fell to the Los Angeles Lakers in seven games.

NBA LEAGUE PASSES: Sign up to unlock live off-market games (7-day free trial)

Boston Celtics retired numbers

Here is the full list of all numbers retired by the Boston Celtics.

No. name Seasons
00 Robert Parish 1980-1994
1 Walter Brown* 1946-1964
2 Auerbach red** 1950-2006
3 Dennis Johnson 1983-1990
5 Kevin Garnett 2007-2013
6 Bill Russell 1956-1969
ten Jo Jo White 1969-1979
14 Bob Cousy 1950-1963
15 Tom Heinson 1956-1965
16 Tom “Satch” Sanders 1960-1973
17 John Havlicek 1962-1978
18 David Cowens 1970-1980
19 Don Nelson 1965-1976
21 Bill Sharman 1950-1961
22 Ed Macauley 1950-1956
23 Frank Ramsey 1954-1964
24 Sam Jones 1957-1969
25 KC Jones 1959-1967
31 Cedric Maxwell 1978-1985
32 Kevin McHale 1980-1993
33 Larry Bird 1979-1992
34 Paul Pierce 1998-2013
35 Reggie Lewis 1987-1993
LOSCY*** Jim Loscutoff 1955-1964

*Brown is the founder and first owner of the Boston Celtics franchise

**No. 2 “means Auerbach is second only to Walter Brown as the most important person in Boston Celtics organizational history”

***Loscutoff wore number 18 but asked that his number not be retired so that a future player could wear it. The No. 18 would later be retired for Cowens.

Comments are closed.